The Romans in Ancient Germany –
A 2000th Anniversary
   

 

 

The Fort the Romans Held
Phil Hill, Berlin, May 10 2009


First, the archeologists discovered a potter’s area. Parts of the skeletons of 24 people and a dog lay in one of the ten ovens.
Photo: Jochen Hähnel

A skull and the remains of a dog’s jaw also found in the potter’s oven.

Photo: LWL/Andreas Weisgerber

Model of a potter’s oven.
Photo: LWL

Aliso – it was Rome’s impregnable fortress in the wilds of Germany beyond the Rhine. Twice it defied German sieges, after the Romans had been chased out of all their other strongholds. Now, these Roman accounts have received confirmation from archeologists: 24 Germanic warriors were killed in an attempt to storm the walls of the fortress, and their corpses dumped by the defenders into a pit next to the potter’s oven. They were found 1975 years later – and so achieved a kind of immortality denied their mostly victorious comrades who, if they died in battle, were sent off to the happy drinking grounds of Valhalla from a funeral pier.

The bones were found 18 years ago in Haltern on the Lippe, in one of the most spectacular digs in northwestern Germany. Now, in time for the anniversary of the battle that rang in the end of Rome’s rule east of the Rhine, an examination of the enamel of the teeth of ten of the men has been carried out, using a method which can reveal where the individual grew up. Most were from nearby parts, but several warriors had travelled from the distant south to join in the war – an indication that the Germanic tribal coalition drew recruits from all over the Germanic territories. It is the third major discovery in the year leading up to the 2000th anniversary of the battle in the Teutoburg Forest, where three legions were annihilated near Osnabrück in September, 0009.

Whether the men died in winter of 0009 or during the fighting some six years later isn't clear. Aliso was the only fort to withstand the German sweep following the victory over Varus, but ultimately, it too was evacuated – although never stormed. Another battle over the fortress was reported in the winter of 0015/16 – which indicates that the Romans occupied it again during their cautious advance beyond the Rhine in 0010-‘14; the corpses could date also from these fights.

The find is a strong indication that the huge facility on a slope above the Lippe, a fort that was almost a town, was indeed Aliso, which is a matter of debate among historians. That debate still isn't settled completely, says Haltern archeologist Rudolf Aßkamp. But if it is Aliso, the large Roman Museum, where he works, is indeed at the right place, unlike the “Hermann Memorial” near Detmold, built to commemorate the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest, which now turns out to have taken place in Osnabrück county. But although Aliso remained steadfast, the Romans otherwise suffered ever more devastating defeats, and after 0016 vacated the entire area, including their stronghold on the Lippe. And so it was that Haltern’s glorious future was already over 1250 years before the city was even founded.

The camp in Barkhausen on the Weser south of Minden, found in the summer of 2008, also dates from this time. These two discoveries have helped to provide an idea about the course of the long war. And then there’s a third dig, which has revealed a hitherto unknown war: the traces of an assault were found between Hildesheim and Göttingen in the northern state of Lower Saxony. They could only have been launched by a gigantic Roman army – the army of the emperor Maximinus Thrax who invaded Germany in 235. It may have been one of the greatest Roman invasions of Germany, though historians have always thought it involved only some border skirmishing. The attack itself was successful, but only in breaking out of a trap; the invasion itself was defeated and the dream of conquering Germany was over – this time for ever.

2000 Jahre Römer in Germanien
   

 

 

Wo die Römer standhielten – Phil Hill, Berlin, 10.5.2009

Anfang der 1990er Jahre hatten Archäologen ein Töpferviertel entdeckt. In einem der zehn Öfen lagen Teile der Skelette von 24 Menschen und einem Hund.
Foto: Jochen Hähnel

Die Schädelkalotte und die Reste des Kiefers des ebenfalls im Töpferofen gefundenen Hundes.

Foto: LWL/Andreas Weisgerber

Modell eines Töpferofens.
Foto: LWL

Aliso – das war Roms uneinnehmbare Festung rechts des Rheins, zweimal trotzte es Belagerungen, nachdem die Germanen ihre Feinde sonst überall verjagt hatten. Jetzt erhalten die Berichte der Römer auch von der Archäologie Bestätigung: 24 germanische Krieger waren wohl beim Versuch, den Wall zu stürmen, gefallen. Die römischen ‚Verteidiger entsorgten die Leichen pietätlos in einer Grube neben dem Töpferofen. So fand man sie 1,975 Jahre später – anders als die ihrer meist siegreichen Kameraden, deren Leichen geborgen und verbrannt wurden, wie es einem toten Helden gebührte, der zur ewigen Saufgelage im Walhall verabschiedet werden sollte.

Vor 18 Jahren wurden die Knochen in Haltern an der Lippe gefunden, die neuen Erkenntnisse stammen aus der Untersuchung der Zahnschmelze bei 10 der Männer, ein Verfahren, das den Ort verrät, wo einer aufwuchs. Die Germanen stammten größtenteils aus der Umgebung, doch auch Kämpfer aus dem fernen Süden waren dabei. Zum dritten Mal in einem Jahr beflügelt damit eine solche „Sensationsentdeckung“ aus der Römerzeit in Nordwestdeutschland das „Varusjahr“, genau 2000 Jahren nach der Vernichtungsschlacht bei Osnabrück, in der die 3 „Varus-Legionen“ untergingen.

Ob die Männer beim Kampf kurz danach im Winter des Jahres 0009 oder erst 6 Jahre später starben, ist nicht klar. Die Festung Aliso war die einzige, die nach der Niederlage kurze Zeit standhielt, bevor auch sie geräumt wurde; gestürmt wurde sie aber nie. Auch im Winter 0015/16 sind Kämpfe um die Festung vermeldet – die Römer hatten sie also im Zuge ihres langsamen Vorstoßes in den Jahren 0010-14 wieder besetzt –; auch aus diesen Kämpfen könnten die Leichen stammen.

Der Fund ist ein starkes Indiz dafür, dass es sich bei der riesigen Anlage – fast schon eine Stadt – am Hang oberhalb der Lippe tatsächlich um Aliso handelte, woran viele in der Wissenschaft zweifeln, ganz klar sei es hiermit immer noch nicht, so der Halterner Archäologe Rudolf Aßkamp. Doch wenn, dann stünde sein Arbeitsplatz, das große Römermuseum, tatsächlich an der richtigen Stelle – anders als das Hermannsdenkmal bei Detmold, das an die Varusschlacht erinnern sollte. Doch trotzte Aliso auch den Sturm, so erlitten die Römer ansonsten immer verheerendere Rückschläge, letztlich räumten sie das ganze Gebiet, auch ihre Trutzburg an der Lippe. 1250 Jahre vor seiner Gründung hatte Haltern seine ruhmreiche Zukunft schon hinter sich.

Auch aus dieser Zeit stammt wohl das Marschlager in Barkhausen an der Weser, südlich von Minden, das im letzten Sommer gefunden wurde. Mit diesen beiden Entdeckungen erhält der lange Krieg endlich auch archäologische Konturen. Und im Herbst grub man sogar einen bisher unbekannten Krieg aus: Zwischen Hildesheim und Göttingen fand man die Spuren eines Angriffs, der nur von einem riesigen römischen Heer hätte geführt werden können – die Armee des Kaisers Maximin, der im Jahre 235 in Germanien einfiel. Man hatte den Krieg bislang als Geplänkel an der Grenze vermutet, nun entpuppt es sich als vielleicht die größte römische Invasion in Germanien überhaupt. Der Angriff selbst war erfolgreich – aber er war nur der Ausbruch aus einer Falle. Der Traum, Germanien zu erobern, war damit schon aufgegeben – diesmal für immer.