The Romans in Ancient Germany –
A 2000th Anniversary
   

 

“Varus, give me back my horse!”

Phil Hill, Detmold/Kalkriese, Oktober 2006

The Emperor Augustus looked down on the little town from his great steed – of course both were a statue, in the center of town. For the new city on the Lahn river, today Waldgirmes in the modern German state of Hesse, was named after him: “Augusta taunensis” (in the Taunus mountains), like “Augusta of the Treverians” (Trier) or “Augusta of the Vindelicians” (Augsburg) – and many others throughout the empire. The quality of the work of art was also imperial: This was no legion camp in barbarian country; a place where such a statue stood was clearly a city on Roman soil.

But not for long. One day in October 2000 years ago, a messenger came riding in; he was in a hurry: A rebellion had broken out up north, the Governor Varus was dead, his three legions had been wiped out. The order was: pull back to the Rhine immediately. What couldn't be dragged away was destroyed, anything that might be valuable to the enemy was dumped into the town’s wells. Protected by the garrison troops from the nearby camp (today in the village of Lahnau), the would-be city-founders retreated down the Lahn valley to the safety of Koblenz. They had had to smash the mounted statue of the emperor and dump the pieces in the well, lest the barbarians desecrate it or use its metal. When the Chattians – “Hessians,” in modern German – tried to emulate their northern friend Arminius and drive the Romans out, they found them already gone. They looted what had been left behind in haste, and then set the place on fire.

Archeologists had already suspected all this before they discovered an 11-meter deep well at the beginning of August, in which they found the head of Augustus’ horse. They had previously found one of its feet and a piece of a bridle, so they were already sure the statue had existed, and hence that the place was a city, not a military camp. The find is nevertheless sensational, not only because of its high quality, comparable only with two other finds from Italy, as Gabriele Rasbach of the Roman-Germanic Commission notes. For these finds from this second well reveal much about the city’s life and also confirm the dating of its foundation in 4 B.C. Its fall is placed in 0009, on the basis of historical knowledge: wherever you find a layer indicating a large-scale fire, as is the case here, the assumption is generally that you’re dealing with traces of the German mopping-up operations after the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest.

But there have also been other, less spectacular finds during the past two years which have expanded the conventional view of history. Evidently, the Romans ventured over the Rhine rather soon, not only in Westphalia, but also in Hesse – that’s according to Tacitus, who reported that an old camp has been rebuilt, but historians have never taken that too seriously. But indeed: a part of the town, says Rasbach, shows signs of military use, including a land-filling operation in which a piece of the statue was also found. Clearly, the Romans came back and used some rubble from the ruins of the city to make a level assembly area. This is one more piece of evidence that Roman rule was not ended by that one big, legendary battle, but only after a long seven-year war.

There is evidence from finds in the surrounding area that the Germans found parts of the statue and recycled them. An alternative theory of the war holds that the statue was intact when they got to town, and that they smashed it themselves, used parts of it and dropping the horse’s head in the well as a present to their gods. While such Germanic religious practices are known, Arminius seems to have put an end to such nonsense. There has been no find at the site of the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest near Osnabrück revealing any such offering; rather, the Germans seem to have used everything they could get to make weapons. They knew the empire would strike back.

2000 Jahre Römer in Germanien
   

 

„Varus, gib mir mein Pferd wieder!“

Phil Hill, Berlin, Oktober 2009

Hoch zu Ross blickte der Kaiser Augustus über die kleine Stadt, allerdings nur sein Standbild. Denn die Stadt an der Lahn, im heutigen Waldgirmes zwischen Gießen und Wetzlar, hieß wohl nach ihm: Augusta taunensis (die am Taunus), wie die Augustae der Treverer (Trier) oder der Vindeliker (Augsburg). Kaiserlich war auch die Qualität des Kunstwerks. Hier war kein Legionslager im Barbarenland, wo so etwas stand, da war Rom.

Doch nicht mehr lange. Im Oktober vor 2000 Jahren kam ein Bote angeritten, der es eilig hatte: Hoch im Norden sei ein Aufstand ausgebrochen, der Statthalter Varus sei gefallen, seine 3 Legionen ausgelöscht. Der Befehl lautete: Alles wird hinter den Rhein zurückgezogen, sofort. Was nicht weggeschleppt werden konnte wurde zerstört, was man dem Feind verweigern wollte, in die Brunnen der Stadt gekippt. Geschützt von den Garnisonssoldaten aus dem nahegelegenen Lahnau zogen die gescheiterten Stadtgründer durchs Lahntal ins sichere Koblenz. Die Reiterstatue des großen Cäsars hatten sie zerschlagen und entsorgen müssen, die Barbaren sollten sie weder schänden noch verwerten können. Als die Chatten – moderne Aussprache: „Hessen“ – ankamen, um es dem Arminius, ihrem Verbündeten im Norden, gleichzutun und die Römer zu vertreiben, fanden sie keine mehr. Was in der Hast noch liegengeblieben war, plünderten sie, dann steckten sie die Anlage in Brand.

Das alles hatte die heutige Archäologie bereits vermutet, als sie Anfang August einen11 Meter tiefen Brunnen ausgruben und den Kopf des Augustus-Pferdes bergen konnten. Seinen einen Fuß und etwas Geschirr hatten sie längst gefunden, daher war man sich sicher, dass es das Standbild gegeben hatte, dass es sich also um eine Stadt handelte. Dennoch ist der Fund eine Sensation, so Gabriele Rasbach von der Römisch-Germanischen Kommission, nicht nur wegen der hohen Qualität, die nur mit 2 weiteren Funden aus Italien vergleichbar ist. Denn die Funde aus diesem zweiten Brunnen der Stadt zeigen viel über das Leben und erhärten auch die Datierung der Gründung um 4 v. Chr. Der Untergang wird auf Grund historischer Kenntnisse mit 9 n. Chr. angegeben. Wo, wie hier, eine Brandschicht gefunden wird, geht man allgemein davon aus, dass die germanischen „Aufräumarbeiten“ nach der Varusschlacht sie hinterlassen haben.

Doch auch andere, weniger spektakuläre Funde der letzten Jahre ergänzen die herkömmliche Sicht der Geschichte. So wird immer klarer, dass die Römer ziemlich bald wieder über den Rhein vorstießen, auch im Hessischen, vermeldet Tacitus, sei ein altes Lager wieder aufgebaut worden. In der Tat: Ein Teil der Stadt, so Rasbach, zeige Zeichen militärischer Nutzung, an einer Stelle habe es wohl zu diesem Zweck eine Aufschüttung gegeben, wo auch ein Stück des Standbildes gefunden wurde. Erhärte sich das, so sei klar, dass die Römer wiederkamen. Und somit, dass es nicht die eine große, märchenhafte Schlacht war, in der die Römer „als sie frech geworden“, vom „Hermann“ geschlagen wurden, sondern dass erst ein siebenjähriger Krieg die germanische Unabhängigkeit sicherte.

Dass die Germanen Teile des Standbildes fanden und weiterverwerteten, ist aus Funden in der Umgebung sicher, eine andere Theorie lautet aber, erst sie hätten das Standbild zerschlagen und, als Geschenk an die Götter, den Pferdekopf in den Brunnen versenkt. Solche Frömmigkeiten sind zwar belegt, andererseits hat Arminius diesen Unsinn wohl beendet: am Ort der Varusschlacht bei Osnabrück fand man keine solche Opferstelle, vielmehr scheinen die Germanen bewusst alles verwertet zu haben, was sie kriegen konnten. Denn dass das Imperium zurückschlägt, war ihnen klar.